Guest Book

Quotes from our guest book

“Four wonderful days in the Loire Valley driving through the countryside, visiting châteaux, eating delicious food, and drinking great wine. AND five wonderful nights at Closerie Falaiseau. A home so full of character and charm, you can feel the history. It is a perfect place to came back to and rest for your next day’s adventures. We can’t say enough about the warm welcome of the French people or of the pâtisseries. We’ve never eaten such delicious desserts (or so many!). Thank you for making our tim ein the Loire so memorable.”

Patricia and Michael (Derry, USA), September 2015

“How lucky my husband and I were to have chosen Closerie Falaiseau as the place to stay while visiting the Loire Valley. Falaiseau is a beautiful home and Rosemary has thought to provide every comfort to ensure a wonderful stay. It was a pleasure meeting you, Rosemary and Jean Michel. Thank you for you hospitality.”

John and Eileen (Calgary, Canada), September 2014.

“Five stars for you lovely home. Five châteaux in two days – crazy! But we regained our serentity with long dinner and wine at Closerie Falaiseau. We plan to return and spend much more time at 1-0-9″.

William and Joan (Lancaster, PA, USA), September 2014

“This experience at Closerie Falaiseau was a wonderful beginning to my retirement! We will cherish memories of our stay at your lovely place in the Loire Valley. Each day we would discover another interesting decorative piece to admire. Everything and more that we needed was beautifully displayed. It is easy to understand why you chose Closerie Falaiseau, Blois and the Loire Valley with all the châteaux to spend your own retirement!”

Anita and Dave (Pittsburgh, USA), August 2014

“It was delightful meeting you and learning about your lovely home. Thank you for your thoughtful care of your guests. We lacked nothing!”

Ruth (Winnitha, USA) August 2014

“We’re proud to be the first guests from Holland. What a good decision we made in the choice of your beautiful 16th century house. And how quiet it is here! We had a good time and made a few rides on the cycling paths between the vineyards (“Les Châteaux à vélo” is a great help). Visited the beautiful town of Blois, the Beauval Zoo and castles and gardens. We enjoyed the wines of the Loire and also bought some. We return home with new energy! Good luck.”

Jannie and Ed (Westknollendom, The Netherlands), August 2014

“The fantasy that popped up on my computer screen in Los Angeles turned out to be even better in reality. Thank you for the loving attention to detail throughout. My husband and I will cherish the memory of cycling in La Loire Valley and returning “home” to your wonderful Closerie Falaiseau.”

Victoria and Yannick (Los Angeles, USA), July 2014

“We arrived at Blois in a terrible bad storm. It felt so wet and cold. We settled in your lovely house. It rained heavy the next day too. Then we got up to a cloudy day and ventured out into your great garden. The flowers were so colourful. We saw the robin and blackbird, gradually the sun came out and dried up most of the wet and we sat and enjoyed your garden. Also we went down to the beautiful Loire River. Hoping now the weather improves. P.S. The sun came out and we went to Château de Cheverny – excellent day, work seeing. Brilliant. We enjoyed your home too.”

Marion and John (Essex, UK), June 2014

“Lovely to meet you both and to give us a tour of your beautiful house. We have had a wonderful week touring around the Loire Valley – so much to see and do. Always a pleasure to drive down the little road back to your house and close the gates behind us. Thank you once again and all the best with your renovations. Good luck with your pumpkins!”

Mary and Peter (Cronulla, Australia), May 2014

“Nous avons apprécié notre séjour à Closerie Falaiseau. Merci beaucoup pour votre aide avec les billets et pour rendre notre séjour aussi comfortable. Nous espérons que vous apprécierez votre vieille maison de 400 ans pour de nombreuses années à venir.”

Linda and James (South Carolina, USA), May 2013

“What a truly delightful experience. Thank you for your hospitality and the use of your beautiful home. The people have been charming and very obliging. We can understand why you and Jean Michel want to retire to this beautiful part of the world.”

Sue and Gary (Victoria, Australia), May 2013

“I have had the most wonderful time in your beautiful gîte. You have thought of absolutely everything to made my stay perfect. I have never slept so well. The combination of peace & quiet plus the comfortable bed made it difficult to not sleep like a baby. You are so well located only minutes from Blois but also in a position to make the most of the surrounding countryside. I am looking forward to returning & will be sharing the secret of your gîte with my friends. Thank you for your warm welcome and attention to detail to make your gîte a home away from home”.

Kathy (Australian), June 2012, www.femmesfrancophiles.blogspot.com

“We were honestly surprised how wonderfully prepared the house was for us and could not say enough regarding the fine attention to detail Rosemary and Jean Michel put into it. We are still discovering the details of hospitality up until our last day of a 9-day visit.

My wife and I comment on how quiet it is here and how comfortable the bed is. The rooms are spacious and really give you that feeling of history. It makes you think about the past history in the area and France in general.

This was also a place where we could explore in the area. Close enough to all necessities.

All in all Rosemary and Jean Michel did a superb job on the house and a supreme job in hospitality! 

It was an inspiration to an artist.”

John and Toshiko Modesitt, San Diego, U.S.A., 6/25/2012. paintings@sbcglobal.net

“Thank you for making our stay in the Loire Valley a unique experience. The house is amazing and so beautifully appointed. And what a great location! We look forward to returning to continue our exploration of this wonderful country.”

Keith and Katherine (Sydney, Australia), July 2012.

“We loved the house, loved the area! Great for walking and bike riding. Blois is great: so much to do and see … This house has everything – so comfortable and practical. We loved all the beautiful furniture chosen with care. Tnank you for a wonderful place to stay!” 

Sarah and Alan (Florida, USA), August 2012.

Happiness” is when reality surpasses expectations, and your gîte has done just that! What a find from Birmingham, Michigan, thanks to VRBO. As others have said – you have it all – no additions necessary.
The location was superb for enjoying the Loire and all its treasures, and returning to “our” wonderful treasure, Closerie Falaiseau, was the best part of all.
We know it is not goodbye, but simply à bientôt.

Bill and Sandy (Michigan, USA), September 2012

“Merci beaucoup! Our stay here has been a delight. What a wonderful welcoming home. We hope to be back one day and will certainly recommend you highly to our friends.”

Damian and Patty (Melbourne, Australia), September 2012

“Thank you both for this exchange with you in this beautiful house, great location and wonderful part of France.
We have enjoyed all that the local area has to offer and, I think, covered all the suggestions in the “Closerie Falaiseau” support book.
I did not expect to enjoy so many of the châteaux, with my husband leading the charge. Special trips to troglodytes at Rochemenier and Vinomania in Blois.”

Liz and Max (Tasmania, Australia), September 2012

“What a great two weeks we have had, starting with the sites of Paris and now the amazing châteaus and gardens of the Loire Valley. We have felt very comfortable in your lovely homes and know why you also must enjoy living in both locations. Thanks again for this opportunity. Merci. Au revoir.”

Brian and Scott (Armidale, Australia), October 2012

“To our dear friends, Rosemary and Jean Michel, it has been a great privilege to share your beautiful Renaissance home, Closerie Falaiseau, with you. These past nine days have been filled with wonderful varied experiences – delightful excursions into Blois, or walking along the river at nearby Chouzy sur Cisse, picking (when one could discern them on the forest floor) the cepe mushrooms. Of course there is also the delight of discovering the Café Gourmand in the little charming tea rooms of Blois, the amazingly delicious lunch, a visual & sensual indulgence, at Domaine des Hauts de Loire. 

However, our very special meals were those revolving around the kitchen, food from the fresh markets (even homegrown too) prepared together and consumed with those very excellent Loire wines! We have been left with many happy memories!

Congratulations too on an amazing and brilliant job setting up the Closerie for guests & visitors. The kitchen, really could not be better equipped and 1 really luxuriate in the spacious, elegant bedroom & en suite you have created. Bisous Marilyn.”

Where better to explore the chateaux and history of the Loire than from this lovely gîte with its own history – but with all the comforts. I particularly enjoyed lying in bed gazing at the rose climbing outside the window or its early morning sunflight filtered through the river mist. Many thanks. Love Alan.”

Marilyn and Alan (Canberra, Australia), October 2012

“Our stay here has been delightful. The weather outside has been “atmospheric”, but the house is beautifully warm and comfortable. We will certainly be recommending it to friends.”

Helene and Alan (Canberra, Australia), December 2012